Seismic risk classes

Seismic risk classes

We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

What are the seismic risk classes of buildings and what are they? How to calculate the class of a building and PAM and IS-V evaluation.

Seismic classes of buildings, what they are and calculation

The seismic risk classes, they are used to define procedures that make it possible to assign the risk class to a construction. The classes can be calculated either in a conventional or simplified way.

Simplified calculation of seismic risk classes it is a procedure referring to building aggregates made of masonry. So the simplified calculation is used only for historic and old buildings.

The simplified method serves to identify the seismic risk classes for structural units that would otherwise be difficult to assess. So in these cases, it would be useless to elaborate and use the methods and numerologies applied with the conventional method.

The risk class in the conventional method it is calculated on the basis of two different parameters:

  • The WFP or Average Annual Expected Losses are the economic parameter
  • The IS-V is the safety index of life protection: this is the parameter that refers to the structural safety of the building.

How the seismic risk classes are calculated: conventional method

Before giving the structure a risk class it is necessary to carry out an assessment of the resistance capacity of the construction. These must comply with the regulations in force relating to the protection of life.

After the resistance of the building has been evaluated with complex and difficult theoretical calculations, it is possible to start to calculate the seismic risk classes with the conventional method. Now, in order to complete the evaluation of the classes, it is necessary to define the values ​​according to the PAM and the IS-V. After the PAM and IS-V functions have been reported, it will be possible to assess which risk the construction is subjected to.

MAPs are calculated through a spreadsheet or a graph, the IS-V class instead serves in the end to attribute the seismic risk class to the building. Finally, to be able to correctly calculate the seismic risk it will also be necessary to evaluate:

  • The limit state of safeguarding life
  • The limit state of collapse
  • The limit state of operation

How they differ and how to measure the seismic risk classes

Understand which ones are or not seismic risk classes and understanding how they differ from each other is very important. This year, in fact, the Government introduced the 2017 Budget Law: the Bonus Earthquake.

This bonus will allow the activation of tax incentives for the redevelopment of buildings, and for their safety. In order to access the bonus it will be mandatory to follow the guidelines for the classification of seismic risk for buildings. Even in the case of new buildings, the engineers must always draw up the seismic risk class of the future building.

The seismic risk depends on an interaction of factors and is calculated according to the: vulnerability of the structure, exposure to a seismic risk and the danger of the place.

For accuracy:

  • The danger is the probability that an earthquake will occur in the area where the building is located.
  • The vulnerability is used to assess what the consequences of the earthquake could be, and therefore how much the building can withstand a possible earthquake.
  • The exhibition allows the socio-economic assessment of the consequences of the earthquake.

The seismic risk classes, they are then defined with a series of letters, each of which corresponds to the real danger to which a building may be exposed.

What are the seismic risk classes

  • class A +: this determines that the building is subjected to a very low seismic risk.
  • class A
  • class B
  • class C
  • class D
  • class E
  • class F
  • class G: the last class, on the other hand, determines that the building is exposed to a very high risk in the event of an earthquake.

Plus the building is located in one high seismic risk class, the more it will be necessary to redevelop the building, to make it earthquake-proof.

Sismabonus and incentives for anti-seismic adaptation

With thebonus earthquake, the state wantsincentivizewith the highest priority, all the interventions that aim to make the buildings earthquake-proof.

The finance law can be used by residential houses or entire condominiums. Thesismabonusit is also aimed at second homes. For all information: Bonus for anti-seismic adaptation

Video: Seismic risk to transportation networks (June 2022).


  1. Serena

    Fine, I and thought.

  2. Cahal

    We can talk on this issue for a long time.

  3. Elidure

    Clearly, the ideal answer

  4. Marvyn

    I regret, that, I can help nothing, but it is assured, that to you will help to find the correct decision.

  5. Mesrop

    Great answer, bravo :)

  6. Pierpont

    You have hit the spot. This is a great idea. I support you.

Write a message